Our Litchfield Montessori Team

Our Litchfield Montessori Team

The heart of Litchfield Montessori School is our nurturing, well-trained, and experienced Faculty.  A certified Montessori Teacher and Assistant Teacher lead each classroom, providing continuity throughout the three-year cycle.  Our teachers know and honor each child’s individual potential and work to create an environment that inspires children to develop inner discipline, self assurance, and a love of learning.  This talented Faculty of LMS, averaging 16 years of teaching experience, and well known in the profession, frequently serve as trainers and models at educational seminars and for students from local colleges and universities.  Their first love, however, is our children at LMS, whom they creatively and sensitively nurture and support.


Elaine Allessio - Elementary Assisting Directress
M. Ed & A.M.S. Montessori Certification (3-6) - Xavier University
B.A. - History Education, Regis College
eallessio@litchfieldmontessori.org
Elaine's Corner Blog



Rob Brereton -  Music
B.A. - Music - Classical Guitar, Palm Beach Atlanta College
rbrereton@litchfieldmontessori.org



Rebecca Caruso - Children's House Assisting Directress
M.S.W. - Social Work, University of Connecticut
B.A. - Psychology, Connecticut College
Licensed Clinical Social Worker, State of Connecticut
Positive Discipline Certified Instructor
rcaruso@litchfieldmontessori.org



Judy Conroy - Children's House Directress
B.A.- General Studies, University of Connecticut
A.M.S. - Montessori Primary Certification, (3-6) Northeast Montessori Institute
jconroy@litchfieldmontessori.org



Debby DeGuire - Lower Elementary Co-Directress
M. Ed - AMS - Montessori (6-9) Certification - Xavier University
B.A. - Theatre Arts - University of Cincinnati
Level I Certified Kingian NonviolenceTrainer
ddeguire@litchfieldmontessori.org



Karen Gavell - Children's House Directress
B.S. - Education and Psychology, Charter Oak State College
AMS Montessori Certification (3-6) CMTE/NY
Positive Discipline Certified Instructor
kgavell@litchfieldmontessori.org



Monika Geerling - Middle School Assistant
M.Ed - Antioch New England, Keene, New Hampshire
B.G.S.- Psychology & Fine Arts, University of Connecticut
mgeerling@litchfieldmontessori.org



Kate Gnitzcavich - Upper Elementary Assistant
B.M.U.S.- Bachelor of Music, Manhattanville College, Concentrations in Music Education (K-12) and Piano
kgnitzcavich@litchfieldmontessori.org



Deborah Helck - Language Specialist
M.ED - Speech & Language Pathology, Emory University
B.S. - Speech & Language Pathology, University of Virginia
dhelck@litchfieldmontessori.org







Grail Kearney - Lower Elementary Co-Directress
M.F.A. - Hamilton College
Elementary Certificate, Association Montessori Internationale, Bergamo, Italy
gkearney@litchfieldmontessori.org



Liliana Kleid - Spanish, Children’s House / Lower Elementary / YPC
B.A. - Communications - Universidad San Martin de Porres
lkleid@litchfieldmontessori.org



Judy Maloney - Young Peoples Community Directress
Montessori Advanced Assistant's Training
Infant and Toddler Certification - North American Montessori Teacher's Association (NAMTA)
Naugatuck Valley Community Technical College
State of CT - Early Childhood Education
jmaloney@litchfieldmontessori.org



Deb Martin - Physical Education Coordinator
N.C.A.A. National Rated Woman’s Lacrosse Umpire
N.C.A.A. Sectional Rated Woman’s Field Hockey Umpire
Assistants Elementary Level Training - CMTE/NY
dmartin@litchfieldmontessori.org



Rachel McGinnis - Young Peoples Community Assistant
B.A. - Bard College
Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine - University of Florida
rmcginnis@litchfieldmontessori.org




Caren Ross - Middle School Directress
M.A. - International Affairs, regional focus in Latin America and Iberia (specialization in Journalism), Columbia University
N.A.M.T.A., Certficate for Adolescent Studies
B.A. - Psychology & Spanish, Tufts University
cross@litchfieldmontessori.org



Jane Spencer ('96) - Admission and Volunteer Coordinator
B.A. - Environmental Studies, University of Colorado at Boulder
jspencer@litchfieldmontessori.org



Sondra Strubhar - Upper Elementary Directress
B.A. - Political Science, minor English/Journalism - University of Connecticut
A.M.S. Montessori Certification (6-12), CMTE/NY
sstrubhar@litchfieldmontessori.org



Emily Swomley - Children's House Assisting Directress
B.A - Wesleyan University
METTC, Intro to Montessori Early Childhood 
eswomley@litchfieldmontessori.org



Tina Zampaglione - Art
Northwest Community College Art - Art Specialist
tzampaglione@litchfieldmontessori.org
LITCHFIELD MONTESSORI SCHOOL 5 Knife Shop Road • Northfield, CT 06778 • 860-283-5920 • info@litchfieldmontessori.org
LITCHFIELD MONTESSORI MIDDLE SCHOOL 741 Steel Road • New Hartford, CT 06057 • 860-283-5920 • info@litchfieldmontessori.org
© 2014 Litchfield Montessori School. All Rights Reserved. Site Design: Good Design, LLC