Our Litchfield Montessori Team

Our Litchfield Montessori Team

The heart of Litchfield Montessori School is our nurturing, well-trained, and experienced Faculty.  A certified Montessori Teacher and Assistant Teacher lead each classroom, providing continuity throughout the three-year cycle.  Our teachers know and honor each child’s individual potential and work to create an environment that inspires children to develop inner discipline, self assurance, and a love of learning.  This talented Faculty of LMS, averaging 16 years of teaching experience, and well known in the profession, frequently serve as trainers and models at educational seminars and for students from local colleges and universities.  Their first love, however, is our children at LMS, whom they creatively and sensitively nurture and support.


Bonny Flower - Children's House Directress
B.A. Sociology, Purdue University 
AMI Primary Diploma, Washington Montessori Institute 
bflower@litchfieldmontessori.org


Donna Fortier - Business Manager 
Northwestern Connecticut Community College, Accounting
businessmanager@litchfieldmontessori.org


Karen Gavell - Children's House Directress
B.S., Education and Psychology, Charter Oak State College
AMS Montessori Certification (3-6), CMTE/NY
kgavell@litchfieldmontessori.org


Monika Geerling – Children’s House Assistant
B.S. Psychology, University of Connecticut
M.S. Education, Antioch New England
mgeerling@litchfieldmontessori.org


Kate Gnitzcavich - Elementary Co-directress
B.Mus. With concentrations in Music Education (K-12) and Piano, Manhattanville College
AMI Montessori Elementary 6 – 12 Certification, Montessori Training Center Northeast
kgnitzcavich@litchfieldmontessori.org


Betsy Johnson-Assistant Head of School
B.A. Sociology, Allegheny College
M.A. Early Childhood and Special Education, University of St. Joseph
bjohnson@litchfieldmontessori.org


Cara Johnson - Head of School
B.A., M.A., Ph.D., Anthropology, University of Connecticut
cjohnson@litchfieldmontessori.org


Grail Kearney - Elementary Co-directress
M.F.A. Hamilton College
Elementary Certificate, Association Montessori Internationale, Bergamo, Italy
gkearney@litchfieldmontessori.org


Liliana Kleid – Spanish Specialist
B.A. Communications, Universidad San Martin de Porres
lkleid@litchfieldmontessori.org


Deborah Martin – Office Assistant, Physical Education Coordinator
Connecticut Field Hockey Association Official Board
Massachusetts Collegiate Field Hockey Umpire Association
Connecticut Women’s Lacrosse Office Board
dmartin@litchfieldmontessori.org


Rachel McGinnis - Young Peoples Community Assistant
B.A. Biology, Bard College
Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine, University of Florida
rmcginnis@litchfieldmontessori.org


Judy Olsen – Young People’s Community Directress
International Montessori Teaching Diploma, Infant – 3 Years, North American Montessori Center
C.D.A. (Child Development Associate) Naugatuck Valley Community Technical College
jolsen@litchfieldmontessori.org


Emily Swomley - Elementary Assistant
B.A – English, Wesleyan University
METTC, Intro to Montessori Early Childhood 
eswomley@litchfieldmontessori.org

Affiliated Staff

Deborah Helck - Language Specialist
B.S. - Speech & Language Pathology, University of Virginia
M.Ed. - Speech & Language Pathology, Emory University

Tina Zampaglione – Art Specialist
Art, Northwest Connecticut Community College
 
LITCHFIELD MONTESSORI SCHOOL 5 Knife Shop Road • Northfield, CT 06778 • 860-283-5920 • info@litchfieldmontessori.org
LITCHFIELD MONTESSORI MIDDLE SCHOOL 741 Steel Road • New Hartford, CT 06057 • 860-283-5920 • info@litchfieldmontessori.org
© 2016 Litchfield Montessori School. All Rights Reserved. Site Design: Good Design, LLC