Our Litchfield Montessori Team

Our Litchfield Montessori Team

The heart of Litchfield Montessori School is our nurturing, well-trained, and experienced Faculty.  A certified Montessori Teacher and Assistant Teacher lead each classroom, providing continuity throughout the three-year cycle.  Our teachers know and honor each child’s individual potential and work to create an environment that inspires children to develop inner discipline, self assurance, and a love of learning.  This talented Faculty of LMS, averaging 16 years of teaching experience, and well known in the profession, frequently serve as trainers and models at educational seminars and for students from local colleges and universities.  Their first love, however, is our children at LMS, whom they creatively and sensitively nurture and support.


Elaine Allessio - Elementary Assisting Directress
M. Ed & A.M.S. Montessori Certification (3-6) - Xavier University
B.A. - History Education, Regis College
eallessio@litchfieldmontessori.org
Elaine's Corner Blog








Judy Conroy - Children's House Directress
B.A.- General Studies, University of Connecticut
A.M.S. - Montessori Primary Certification, (3-6) Northeast Montessori Institute
jconroy@litchfieldmontessori.org



Debby DeGuire - Head of School
M. Ed - AMS - Montessori (6-9) Certification - Xavier University
B.A. - Theatre Arts - University of Cincinnati
Level I Certified Kingian NonviolenceTrainer
ddeguire@litchfieldmontessori.org



Karen Gavell - Children's House Directress
B.S. - Education and Psychology, Charter Oak State College
AMS Montessori Certification (3-6) CMTE/NY
Positive Discipline Certified Instructor
kgavell@litchfieldmontessori.org




Kate Gnitzcavich - Upper Elementary Directress
B.M.U.S.- Bachelor of Music, Manhattanville College, Concentrations in Music Education (K-12) and Piano
Training at MTCNE in Hartford for AMI 6-12
kgnitzcavich@litchfieldmontessori.org



Deborah Helck - Language Specialist
M.ED - Speech & Language Pathology, Emory University
B.S. - Speech & Language Pathology, University of Virginia
dhelck@litchfieldmontessori.org







Grail Kearney - Lower Elementary Co-Directress
M.F.A. - Hamilton College
Elementary Certificate, Association Montessori Internationale, Bergamo, Italy
gkearney@litchfieldmontessori.org



Liliana Kleid - Spanish, Children’s House / Lower Elementary / YPC
B.A. - Communications - Universidad San Martin de Porres
lkleid@litchfieldmontessori.org





Judy Olsen- Young Peoples Community Directress
Training with NAMC Infant/Toddler
CDA(Child Development Associate) Naugatuck Valley Community Technical College
15 Years in Thomaston Public Shool system in the Autism Program
jolsen@litchfieldmontessori.org






Rachel McGinnis - Young Peoples Community Assistant
B.A. - Bard College
Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine - University of Florida
rmcginnis@litchfieldmontessori.org






Jane Spencer ('96) - Admission and Volunteer Coordinator
B.A. - Environmental Studies, University of Colorado at Boulder
jspencer@litchfieldmontessori.org




Emily Swomley - Children's House Assisting Directress
B.A - Wesleyan University
METTC, Intro to Montessori Early Childhood 
eswomley@litchfieldmontessori.org



Tina Zampaglione - Art
Northwest Community College Art - Art Specialist
tzampaglione@litchfieldmontessori.org
LITCHFIELD MONTESSORI SCHOOL 5 Knife Shop Road • Northfield, CT 06778 • 860-283-5920 • info@litchfieldmontessori.org
LITCHFIELD MONTESSORI MIDDLE SCHOOL 741 Steel Road • New Hartford, CT 06057 • 860-283-5920 • info@litchfieldmontessori.org
© 2014 Litchfield Montessori School. All Rights Reserved. Site Design: Good Design, LLC